Penalties for DUI

Drunk Driving in Pennsylvania Pennsylvania is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period,’ also known as a 'look back period', this means that a prior conviction is not admissible after ten years. If it is ten years and one day since a driver was convicted of DUI, that driver will be considered a first-time offender. If a driver commits a DUI within ten years of the first DUI, they are considered guilty of a second offense and are subjected to harsher punishments.

Pennsylvania DUI / DAI law has a three-tiered system: one DUI punishment for those who drive with a blood alcohol content of .08 to .099%, another set of DUI punishments for blood alcohol levels from .10 to .159%, and the harshest DUI punishment for those who drive with blood alcohol levels of .16% or higher.
First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Pennsylvania:

Penalty for 0.08 to 0.099% BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

$300 fine
• 6 months probation
• no drivers license suspension on first offence

Penalty for 0.10 to 0.159% BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

• $500 to $5,000 fine
• 2 days to 6 months in jail
• 1 year drivers license suspension (occupational restricted license available after 60 days)

Penalty for 0.16 and above BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

• $1,000 to $5,000 fine
• 3 days to 6 months in jail
• 1 year drivers license suspension (occupational restricted license available after 60 days)
Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Pennsylvania:

Penalty for 0.08 to 0.099% BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

• $300 to $2,500 fine
• 5 days to 6 months in jail
• 1 year drivers license suspension

Penalty for 0.10 to 0.159% BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

• $750 to $5,000 fine
• 30 days to 6 months in prison
• 1 year drivers license suspension

Penalty for 0.16 and above BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

• $1,500 plus fine
90 days to 5 years in jail
18 month drivers license suspension
Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor
The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Pennsylvania:

Penalty for 0.08 to 0.099% BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

$500 to $5,000 fine
10 days to 2 years in jail
1 year drives license suspension

Penalty for 0.10 to 0.159% BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

$1,500 to $10,000 fine
90 days to 5 years in jail
18 month drivers license suspension

Penalty for 0.16 and above BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)

minimum $2,500 fine
1 to 5 years in jail
18 month drivers license suspension

Penalties for underage (under 21) DUI with 0.02% and above BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration)
The minimum penalties for underage drink driving are:

up to $500 fine plus costs
90 day drivers license suspension for 1st offence
1 year drivers license suspension for 2nd offence
2 year drivers license suspension for 3rd and subsequent offences

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania drivers face a drivers license suspension ranging from at least 1 year for failing to submit to a chemical test.
 
Provided by the Law Firm of Patburg Carmody and Ging
Home Page    Know your Rights    DUI Penalties
Calculate Your BAC    FAQ    Contact Us

Deutschtown Center, 801 Vinial Street, 3rd Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Phone: 1-800-471-6880